top of page

totally hot tuesday

Here we are with the monthly blog post! I don't really think anyone reads this anymore so it's more just for me and honestly, I'm okay with it. Since I last posted I went to Nantucket with my friends for 5 days and I visited my friend, Elizabeth, in NYC.


Summer is in full swing here in Annapolis, real feel says it's over 90 degrees and it feels like 100% humidity. I've been waking up fairly early to run so I don't die of heat stroke (I'm being dramatic but only sort of). The nice part of being home is that my friend Elena runs with me! We always joke we're the only two in our friend group that's crazy enough to run and it's really true.


Nantucket was lots of fun! We took our time getting there and drove to Gray's house on the Eastern Shore for a night and then we left bright and early from there to head to Newport where we stayed at our other friend (and teammate)'s house. We spent a night in Newport and ended up seeing lots of friends who were there for a regatta! From there we took the ferry to Nantucket sometime midday. Nantucket is such a cute island and the weather was beautiful the whole time we were there. We were originally going to sail from Oxford, MD to Nantucket but then the boat we were going to use was not ready in time so we ended up staying in a house. We spent a lot of time on the beach and at The Chicken Box, the one dive-ish bar in the town. I'm only partially kidding... it was a really nice trip though. Gray and I were walking to pick up lunch one day and it was a little sentimental realizing that we're seniors and next summer we'll all be going separate ways. Time really flies. I feel old saying that.


After Nantucket we all sort of went our separate ways, Madeline, Jack and I went to Boston to stay with Fiona and her family for a little which was also very fun! I got to meet some of Fiona's high school friends and we went to a cute little brewery area near Fenway Park and then we met her parents for a delicious dinner. The next day we played tennis at this super fancy club where you have to wear all white! I can't say I'm good at tennis but I had to go and try to play for the experience. I only stayed one night and then I flew home because Allison, Josh and Lila were here visiting and I really wanted to see them and be here for Father's Day. We had a nice time visiting with them, I think my parents really love the grandparent role. Lila is so cute! She loves fruit and swinging at the park. I also think she loved the boat ride and I heard she loved the splash pad at the pool. She's a very smiley baby and her and Bungee got along very well.


I was home for a few days and I caught up with some of my high school friends and my sailing friends and then I headed to New York to visit Elizabeth in her new apartment! She just graduated from Fordham but is going to start grad school there in the fall and I've never been to visit her and I figured now is my chance! I took the train for the first time by myself, it was really easy if anyone was wondering... She showed me around and we went to dinner with her roommate and then we saw practically everyone we knew. We met up with a few of our sailing friends and one of my Navy friends who just happened to be in the city the same time as me! I was telling my parents that I could just sit on a bench there and people watch all day because it's just so different from Annapolis and especially Nantucket where I had been only a few days earlier. Did you guys know platform crocs (yes, the rubber shoes with holes) are in?!


I've been home since then and I've been hanging out with all of my old sailing and high school friends. It's been really nice catching up with all of them. For the 4th my friend from elementary and middle school, Maddie, came to visit! I'm realizing that she's been here for a lot of fourth's because my high school friends remembered her from freshman or sophomore year which is just so funny!! I had a really nice time with her and we're already planning her next visit.


Yesterday I baked chocolate chip banana bread... I know it's something sooo different from what I normally make, not. I also had dinner with Elena, her dad, and my mom and we had a really nice time. Today I went on a run with Elena and then had breakfast with Jack because he had some free time before he leaves for his cruise tomorrow! He's going to Hawaii and I'm jealous!


I found out that I leave for my cruise this weekend and I'm going to San Diego! I'm looking forward to it. So far I know a few other people that are on my ship but I'm excited to see who else is. I kind of think that those are all of my updates for now. If anyone has any fun book suggestions or hobbies I could take up for like 3 days, please let me know.... Hope everyone that still reads this, or doesn't, is doing well!

Recent Posts

See All

are RX bars a personality trait?

I know, it's a different type of title than normal but I came up with it a few days ago and I've decided to roll with it. I can't remember the last time I blogged but I know it's been awhile and norma

surprise blog post sunday

Yes I know, I've been MIA for quite some time now but I've been relatively busy. I finished the school year and we went right in to Nationals practice and the bars opened up downtown.... I'll let you

where has the time gone wednesday

Last time I blogged I was excitedly awaiting my 21st birthday, which was awesome btw (thank you to my best friends and parents for making it the best day ever ) and now it's the day before April! This

bottom of page