top of page

sunny(ish) saturday - sorry it's been so long!

I know it's a long title but it's well deserved because I haven't blogged in over a month. I guess I've just been pretty busy commuting back and forth to school! Well right now that whole situation is paused because USNA is trying to get their cases under control. I've been doing completely online school for the past week and we're supposed to stay online for the next week at the least. That being said, my 21st birthday is next Saturday!!


I guess that's my first topic, I love birthdays. I love my own, I love other people's too... I love the party planning and gift giving and the surprises, I just love all of it. When my friend Gray turned 21 in November I think I was just as excited as he was. Madeline would say it's because I'm a bit of a control freak, and yes, that's definitely true but I also just love everything about birthdays. Yes, I've definitely had some pretty bad ones but it was really no one's fault. Like on my 8th(?) I had an awesome tea party and sleepover but I had the stomach flu so that wasn't a lot of fun, however, I did get Heely's for that birthday so that was awesome. Even though everything is shut down and the majority of my friends are locked down, I'm super thankful for all of my friends and especially the few that are also living off the yard. Madeline has reminded me that even though this is not the way anyone wants to celebrate their 21st it just means that I'll get to celebrate my birthday for longer. She knows that I'll love that.


I've been running a lot because my half-marathon is about 6 weeks away. It's not an organized one, I'm just running one to see how fast I can do it. Today I'm planning on running 10 miles, not for time, just to do it. Louis and Madeline agreed to run with me. It's pretty chilly but it's not windy so it shouldn't be too bad. Gray said he'd actually run my half with me so that should be fun, I always think it's better to run with a friend.


I'm trying to think of what else I've been doing... Louis, my teammate, who also lives off the yard and his roommates and I have been making dinner on Friday nights. We normally pick a theme and make something so we've made multiple types of chicken, lasagna, nachos, and quesadillas so far. I've been laying low this week because I visited Maddie last weekend and I just want to make sure we're all healthy! Also, my parents want to celebrate my birthday this weekend because they know I'll want to hangout with my friends next weekend! I've honestly enjoyed this down time, I think it's nice every once in awhile. It has given me a chance to catch up on New Girl. I watched it when I was in high school but I honestly think it's funnier now. I'm about halfway through season 2.


We have no idea what's happening with our sailing season, we've been meeting virtually this week so that we can still review team racing and other sailing meetings that we can't have in person. This would normally be the week that we'd be in Charleston, it's a team favorite for sure. It's the time where we get close and really get to know the plebes. Yes, it's disappointing that we're not there but I really think it's easy to get lost in the negatives. I know that "gratitude journals" are a big thing right now but there is some logic to it. Let's focus on the positives. I was talking to my teammates recently and it's really easy to go to practice on a gross, rainy, cold day and complain about how cold it's going to be but that won't change anything. Versus if you walk into the locker room and say, "yes, it's terrible weather but we're going to make the most of it," it'll set a good example and hopefully change a few peoples' moods. I know that the minute the music starts playing and we all start chatting as we get dressed for sailing, my mood will improve. I'm also just incredibly extroverted and I love my team.


I think I blogged about this awhile ago but I was talking to my plebes from last semester and I said, "hey guys, I know this situation sucks (being locked in Bancroft) but we're all here and we're all in it together, it's easy to complain about the negatives but try and find something fun to do together and I promise it'll get better." They looked at me like I had two heads but I really mean it. I'm not the most positive person and we don't always have good days but I really believe that if you wake up and choose to have a good day, you'll have a much better day. I think that's a lot coming from me because I'm skeptical about a lot of things like "positive self-talk" but I think that there is definitely truth behind it.


I think that's all I have for now! While I'm at home for the foreseeable future, I'll try my best to blog more!! Have a good weekend and week :)

Recent Posts

See All

are RX bars a personality trait?

I know, it's a different type of title than normal but I came up with it a few days ago and I've decided to roll with it. I can't remember the last time I blogged but I know it's been awhile and norma

totally hot tuesday

Here we are with the monthly blog post! I don't really think anyone reads this anymore so it's more just for me and honestly, I'm okay with it. Since I last posted I went to Nantucket with my friends

surprise blog post sunday

Yes I know, I've been MIA for quite some time now but I've been relatively busy. I finished the school year and we went right in to Nationals practice and the bars opened up downtown.... I'll let you

bottom of page