top of page

it's wednesday!

I know it's been a little bit, I'm halfway through my second week of the semester and it's taken a little while to become adjusted to my new classes but I think I have a good groove going.


I haven't started commuting to school yet because I'm in ROM and I was supposed to test out on the 25th but they've pushed back our second test until Friday so once all of us in that group have our results back, we'll be out of ROM. I'm looking forward to being out of ROM because then I'll be able to hangout with all of my friends, even the ones living at USNA, and I'll be able to practice and workout with my team. They started this week but only a few of us are able to participate because about half of us are still in ROM.


I like my new classes, it seems like this will be a good semester! All of my professors seem very nice and want to help us succeed. My challenging class EE which is electrical engineering but everyone has to take it so I think I'll make it. It's just knowing which formula goes with which type of problem and conversions and I'm sure it's more complex but if I simplify it it might be easier...


It snowed here on Monday night. It wasn't a lot of snow, just enough that it looked pretty but it was all wet and slushy when we woke up on Tuesday. So naturally I decided to start my half-marathon training plan yesterday. I'm using a plan that Garmin generates based on my health stats that they already have. Today is a 30 min run at a slower pace and 5 mins of warm-up and 5 mins of cool down. I think the first couple of weeks are just to get me acclimated to running farther and the longer I do it the more I'll work on my speed because I said my goal was to run it for a good time, I'm not running an organized race but sometime mid-April I'll be running a half-marathon. I'm excited!!


My friend Louis lives off the yard too with a couple of his company mates so they run with me occasionally which makes it more fun. We might do a trail run on Friday depending how cold it is.


When I was in Maine I made a lot of Belgian waffles and my mom really likes Belgian waffles so I got her a waffle maker off of Amazon and we made Belgian waffles. They turned out really well, she says they're not quite as good as Bean Rush but they're pretty good. I used the recipe that I always use: https://www.food.com/recipe/the-best-belgian-waffles-63071 and I halved it because I only really needed to make 2 but I think it made 3. I've also doubled it and it worked well too! I also add a dash of cinnamon but you don't have to.

I also had really good homemade lasagna in Breckenridge that Gray and his grandma made so I was inspired to make it at home but I'll have to say, theirs was better. Ours was good but his was much better. I do think I redeemed myself when Louis and I made a lasagna-esque dinner and it was very tasty but that probably had to do with the fact that we used his mom's homemade sauce. We also used sausage and penne instead of lasagna noodles so it was like unmixed baked ziti, still very tasty. We make a point of having weekly dinners, the first week was chicken and potatoes, last week was Italian and this week we're going to have Mexican. We all help cook and it's very nice. I normally bring or make some kind of dessert because I really can't help myself.


I think that's all for now, I'll try to blog more frequently! Of course once I'm out of ROM I'll be commuting to and from school so that's another new routine I'll have to figure out but I'm sure it won't take me long. Hope everyone has a good rest of their week!

Recent Posts

See All

are RX bars a personality trait?

I know, it's a different type of title than normal but I came up with it a few days ago and I've decided to roll with it. I can't remember the last time I blogged but I know it's been awhile and norma

totally hot tuesday

Here we are with the monthly blog post! I don't really think anyone reads this anymore so it's more just for me and honestly, I'm okay with it. Since I last posted I went to Nantucket with my friends

surprise blog post sunday

Yes I know, I've been MIA for quite some time now but I've been relatively busy. I finished the school year and we went right in to Nationals practice and the bars opened up downtown.... I'll let you

bottom of page